Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In our last session, we spoke about technology being ubiquitous and its influence in learning today. The big question today was, can collaboration happen without communication? 

This brings to mind, how I taught my intermediate students 6 years ago! Teaching a class of 50 students using a really slow computer and a projector, collaboration using technology was the last thing on my mind. I used slideshows made on powerpoint to teach content, lets say the Oxygen cycle! Students then had to draw whatever is on the screen, onto their notebooks to take home for study. Of course, not everyone completed the drawing in a 30minute lesson, with mixed students’ abilities in the class. Relating it to my current teaching practise, I see that I still use slideshows (Made on Google slides or even Powerpoint + Microsoft Interactive Classroom software) but the level of collaboration has improved a lot! Students have access to the same powerpoint from their devices and can contribute in real time without struggling to complete tasks. Googles auto save feature makes it impossible for you to lose work. Download the drive app on your desktop and you have all the files accessible offline!

The only thing I worry about is their ability to write with a pen!